Here is how you get 9 shades from 4 lipsticks:

Hello you beautiful woman (or man), I hope you are having a beautiful day! 😊

In today’s post, I will be talking about how you can use four basic shades of lipsticks to create multiple more shades.

Now everyone knows you can mix and layer lipsticks. However, sometimes this can be a disaster.
I will be helping you with some (important, life saving) tips that will make your 4 shade lipstick collection look like a 9 shade collection. 💋
So I will be sharing combinations I know that work. Also I will be telling which colour to layer first to get the best result.

The four basic shades you need are:

A Pink – I have Maybelline ColorSensational In the shade Shocking Coral.
Its bright, almost neon pink.
image

A Red – I have the Faces Canada Long Wear Matte Lipstick in the shade 13 Red Addict.
It is an orange based red.
image

A Deep Mauve/ Purple – I have the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in the shade 473 Mauvy Night.
This colour is the perfect marriage between purple and mauve.
image

A Neutral shade – I have the Lakme 9to5 in the shade Toffee Nexus.
This is a my lips but better kind of shade. Even a nude colour will do well.

image

Now the time for the fun part:

COMBO 1: NUDE + PINK = Fresh Nude

The nude I have is a brown toned nude, a dull shade. Adding the pink creates a very nice fresh neutral shade which I love.

The correct way to do this would be to apply the nude shade, and then dab the bright pink.

COMBO 2 : NUDE + RED = Muted Everyday Red

This combination creates a muted red for everyday wear. Red is usually a colour most people wear as a statement lip, but adding the neutral shade to it helps tone it down and making it very wearable.

The correct way to do this would be to apply the neutral shade and then dab the red on. This you will notice will not give an even application, so use your finger to blend it.

COMBO 3 : RED + PINK = Pink + Red 😂

I do not have to say much about this expect, that this is a combination that is not only very flattering but daring at the same time, and that’s why I love it.

The correct way to do this would be to apply the red lipstick first and then layer the pink one. Do not dab this shade on. Apply it like you usually would, over the red one.

COMBO 4 : RED + PURPLE = Deep Vampy Red

When you want a very deep, sexy red colour on your lip, this is the combo you should go for. The purple deepens the red gives that classic red colour.

The correct way to do this would be to apply the red first and then dab the purple on. You can continue to dab till you reach your desired shade.

COMBO 5 : PINK + PURPLE = Muted Purple-toned Pink

The pink I have is a bright, neon pink. Combining that with the earthiness and darkness of the purple makes it a very beautiful colour.

The correct way to do this would be to apply the pink first and then dab the purple on to it.

(I wish I had swatches for you guys, but all the pictures turned out to be horrible. However I do assure you guys that these combinations work and look gorgeous on every skin tone.)

This way, you can get 9 different shades from four lipsticks! I hope this post gave you a new idea or helped you in any way that I could. Do hit the like button and follow for more such post, I would really appreciate it! That’s it for today!

image

14 Comments Add yours

  1. aayusi says:

    That’s awesome! Can’t wait to try it out 😀 ! Hey btw You’re a bombay girl ryt?? I’ve planned a trip to bombay! I was wondering if you could help me plan it out – I mean some suggetions abt the MUST SEE places…I’ve been there before n this tym I wanna shop shop n shop…..its a two day stop !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Malvika says:

      Yes a Bombay Girl always! That’s brilliant! I would recommend visiting:
      Colaba (best place for street shopping, street food, the perfect Mumbai experience)
      Elephanta Caves
      Gateway of India
      Essle World or Tikijini Wadi (both are amusement parks)
      Chowpatty its a beech
      And then there are the endless number of malls, I would recommend Phoenix Market City, its the biggest and the best.
      There the Mumbai Zoo too, and the Aquarium.
      That’s all I can think of really 😅
      Hope you have a great trip and enjoy Mumbai Aayusi 😛
      Don’t forget try Vada Pav and Pani Puri here 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

      1. aayusi says:

        Sure thanks a ton !!! That was really helpful!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Malvika says:

          No problem 😛

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never heard of Lakme, is it available In England? Or do you live in Malaysia? Or am I just being thick and not referring to the previous comment 😂😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Malvika says:

      I don’t think so 😅
      No, I live in India 💁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah right cool, I bet it is lovely and warm! In England it is freezing! 😓

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Malvika says:

          It is boiling hot in India right now, not lovely at all 😂
          I’d prefer living in a warm jacket in freezing weathe ⛄

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 😭😭😭😭 I’m jealous of you! Fancy a country swap? 😂

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Malvika says:

              Okay, I just booked a flight already 😶

              Liked by 1 person

  3. harivain says:

    Would be nice to see some Lakme product reviews. We have Lakme in Malaysia too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Malvika says:

      Sure, I would love to do that 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

