Strawberry with Cream Cheese Cake

Hello everybody!

Today I felt like baking.  Who doesn’t like the thought of being in the kitchen with a vintage apron on, holding a large glass bowl and whisking your batter away, pouring it beautifully into a tin mold, waiting by the oven, drinking coffee and enjoying the appetizing smell of your cake rising? Aah.

However my baking scene is exactly the opposite. I do really enjoy baking BUT I am terrible at it. EVERY SINGLE TIME, I go like “Right! If I follow the recipe step by step, NOTHING could go wrong! I will have a perfect soft, Instagram worthy cake.” As usual that never happens, something HAS to go wrong. But you know what? I am a positive person, who never stops trying. XD

So today I decided lets try (again) to make a soft cake for a change and make use of strawberries. I looked up a recipe on YouTube, I’ll link it here. This channel is called Rajshri Foods, they have some of the best recipes, you should totally go check them out. NOT A SPONSORED POST.

I followed their recipe, but changed the way I assembled the cake. Instead of the traditional round cake with icing, I went ahead and layered the Cake and Strawberry and Cream Cheese Icing in a glass.

As I mentioned above, this recipe is not mine.

So here is what I did:


 

pixlr_20151223145621807

For the batter, I took and massive bowl and whisked together the  ingredients in the following measurements:

 

Wet ingredients:

Butter – 120 ml 

Vanilla Essence  – 1 tsp

Strawberry Essence – 1 tsp

Condensed Milk – 200 gms 

 

Dry ingredients:

Flour – 200 gms

Baking Soda: 1/2 tsp

Baking Powder: 1 tsp


pixlr_20151223151006896

Then butter and prep your container to go into the oven.

Pour the ready batter.

Bake at 180 degree Celsius for 15-20 minutes.


pixlr_20151223151127863

(I apologize in advance for a lot of missing pictures for this part. I need to learn how to be a better blogger XD)

This is my favourite favourite part.

This is where you make the strawberry jam, whisk it in with unsalted butter and cream cheese!

Strawberries – Full Cup

Powdered Sugar – 1 cup

In a small vessel, cook the strawberries with the icing sugar on medium heat. They’ll start to boil. Let them cook for five minutes.

Let this jam cool. Once it has, add this jam to:

Unsalted Butter – 200 gms

Cream Cheese – 200 gms

Whisk this mixture well.

One thing that my mom came up with was to roast some almonds and walnuts to go as one of the layers.

So we crushed a handful of both and roasted them on a pan in clarified butter.


 

pixlr_20151223151230562

Now that you’re done with the above, crumble the cake. and Start layer your glass or jar with the icing, cake crumble and roasted nuts. Set this in the fridge for an hour and you’re done!

The strawberry icing was super tasty. And the entire process was super easy too. 😀

Annnnnnnddddd that’s it for today! I hope this helped you!

Also, Merry Christmas!

wpid-20150402_134956.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

